Game Update

On a warm and sunny evening, the Parnells Senior team lined out against Harlesden Harps in the Senior League.  A mixture of youth and experience yet again produced a winning result.  The game got off to a blistering start with a goal on the first minute by forward Matt McHugh but the team did not capitalise on their great start and ended the first half poorly, 6 points down 1 – 06 to 2 – 09.  The half time talk fired up the players producing much better passing and shooting outscoring Harlesden Harps by 3- 08 to 1 – 02.  Thereby producing a win with the final score being 4 – 14 to 3 – 11.  A good result with a young team against a good side.

The team and scores were as follows:  Evan Byrne, Alan Callanan, Brian O’Sullivan (1-0), Paul Jacobson, Jason Maguire, Martin Carroll, Matthew Leneghan (0-1), Ryan Forde, Jake Moran (1-0), Connor Spinks, Seamus Stenson (0-7), Joe Fegan (0-2), Matthew McHugh (1-0), Eanna Flaherty (0-1), and Davy O’Sullivan (1-2).

Substitutes:  Gearoid McCarthy (0-1) for Matthew Leneghan, Calum Diggins for Connor Spinks and Matthew Leneghan for Matthew McHugh.

Great win lads!

Fortune did not favour the Reserve team when they played NLS on Sunday 4th June.  Many of the team had featured in an earlier game and a mixture of injury and availability of players definitely were influencing factors in the outcome of this game against a very accomplished NLS side.  Final Score-Parnells 2 – 07 NLS 5 – 17.

However the result earlier in the week was merely a blip and when Parnells faced Tara on Thursday 8th June, this game took on a different intensity and the players were really up for it.  By half time, the scores were mounting up Parnells 2 – 06 to Tara 0 – 01.  The second half of the game saw no let up and the goals were being shared amongst 4 players.  Final score Parnells 7 – 16 to Tara 2 – 03

The team and scores were as follows:  Frazer Beckles, Alan Callanan, Enda Fallon, Denis Toomey, Ciaran O’Donaghue, Brian Foody (0-1), Jason Maguire, Ryan Forde (0-3), Jack Woolfe (2-2), Calum Diggins, Finatn McKeon, Connor Spinks (2-3), JP Roche (2-5), Jamie Murphy (1-1), Bernard O’Reilly.

Substitutes:  Matt Leneghan (0-3), Matt Forlan and Joe Harte.

Brilliant Result Lads!