Parnells Youth Presentation 2017

December 1st, 2017 | Club News, PRO Notes, Senior Men, Youth Zone

The club’s Annual Youth Presentation took place on the 19th of November in the GAA clubhouse in Ruislip.  The venue began to buzz from about 3pm as the families began to arrive.  The club committee and managers had worked hard behind the scenes to make sure this event was a success.  The banners were put in place behind the centre tables which displayed a magnificent set of trophies which had been won in the 2017 season.  To the side of that all the award medals and individual awards were set out ready for presentation.

The fun began with the U6’s and ended with the U18 young men from the winning ‘treble’ team.  Master of ceremonies, Tony Griffin led the way and let the boys and girls, the ‘true stars of the day’ take the stage.  Also on hand throughout the afternoon were Dennis Diggins (Senior Secretary), Evan Byrne (Senior Goalie) and Ryan Forde (Senior Midfielder) to present the medals and awards.  Always good to hear from Dennis and that he recognises that the Youth section is key to the growth of the club.  Indeed, Ryan ( a very talented footballer) came through the youth ranks and is one of a crop of young London born players now an integral part of the Senior team.

It was marvellous to see all the very young players (U6-10) excited to meet again and bubbling with enthusiasm as they waited patiently for the first age group to be called up.  The manager’s of these age groups and parent helpers do a fantastic job and take pride in the progress that the players all make from the start to the end of the season.  Speeches were made reflecting back on go games events and training and as the players lined up to receive their medals, the smiles would not leave their faces. Great photo opportunities for the families.  A break for a buffet ensued before the next age groups awards.

The presentation continued with the U10/12 girls led by Fiona Corrigan (and assisted by ‘husband’!).  I think this has been a real success story for the club this year.  Fiona’s time and effort in all areas is unrivalled and she has really nurtured this bunch of lovely young girls and seen great progress throughout the summer.  Indeed the parents recognised Fiona’s contribution with their own presentation and rounds of applause.   All players were commended but the following won individual awards.

U10 Girls:  Managers Player:  Lara O’Sullivan.

                      Players Player:  Connie Ruddy. 

U12 Girls   Managers Player:  Sorcha Moran

                      Players Player:  Ciara Moore. 

The afternoon moved on and it was the turn of the boys from U12 upwards to step forward.  Each of the managers and coaches all had success stories to impart and it was evident that as the boys progress through these age groups the club’s drive and ambition for these players to become skillful gaelic players and well rounded young men pays dividends on and off the field.  By the time the U16’s were lining up the ‘bags’ of medals for most to collect still filled the tables.  The silverware spoke for itself.  The U18’s swept the board with the ‘treble’ and secured their 4th Championship title in a row.  There is no doubt that all these players played their part in the overall success of the club this year and years before and therefore they should be recognised and applauded.

The individual awards always initiate lots of discussion and this years’ ‘winners’ were great examples for the younger players of the club.  For the first time this year, the club introduced a new award ‘Young Player’.  It was agreed that as the age groups were double age groups, sometimes, the younger ‘year group’ gets overshadowed; so hence a new award.  There is always excitement before the names are announced and all were received with genuine surprise and delight by the players themselves.  The awards were as follows.

U12 Managers Player:  Finn Foody, Young Player:  Cillian Griffin, Players Player:  Sean Duncan. 

U14 MP Aiden Doran, YP Pearse Kerr, PP Beanón Corrigan. 

U16 MP Liam Bakery, YP Jack Curd, PP Niall Twomey. 

U18 MP Neil McNamara, YP Jojo Thabo, PP Eoghan Reilly.

Congratulations to all the players on their awards, to all the families who attended, to Brendan Vaughan who marked the occasion with photographs, to Dennis Diggins, Evan Byrne and Ryan Forde who presented the awards, the Committee and managers who worked extremely hard behind the scenes.  The raffle rounded off the day and thank you to everyone who generously donated prizes.

A great event, a fitting end to the season and enjoyed by everyone.  Additional thanks to the staff at the Clubhouse who looked after us all.


Irene Sheridan-Club PRO